Why do I see "Unknown user" when I enable vault sync with iCloud? | Enpass

Have questions?

We are ready to answer any questions you have.

Why do I see “Unknown user” when I enable vault sync with iCloud?

When users set up sync with an iCloud account for the first time, a pop-up “Look me up by email” asks for the user’s confirmation: If you enable, the user name shows on the vault sync page, else(if you disable), an “Unknown user” displays. 

How to resolve the “Unknown user” error?

iCloud website:

  1. Go to the iCloud site on a web-browser and sign-in with the same Apple ID with which you have set up vault sync on Enpass.
  2. Click on Manage Account Settings under your name.
  3. Go to “Manage Apps That Can Look You Up.”
  4. Enable the checkbox with the name ‘XXXX.sinew.walletx’.
  5. Click Done.

Disconnect the vault sync with iCloud in Enpass and reconnect it again. You should now see the iCloud account name under iCloud sync.

Can't find what you're looking for?