This section deals with security of the Enpass in your system. You can invoke Security Settings dialog in Mac OS from Enpass-Preferences-Security tab.
On Windows and Linux platforms, option for accessing security settings is under Tools-Settings.
- To change your master password you’d first have to enter the old password and then set (and confirm) the new one. Click OK.
- You’d be informed about the success of the password change.
If you have enabled sync, the data file encrypted with the new master password will get updated to the cloud during next sync operation. Also, other devices syncing with that cloud will ask for this new password from then on.
Autolocking protects your data from unauthorized access by locking the Enpass keychain, even when your device’s privacy has been compromized. The whole behavior of autolocking can be controlled by the following settings:
Lock when Enpass is idle¶
The default setting is 1 minute, which means that Enpass would be auto-locked if not used for 1 minute.
You can change it to match your comfort.
Lock when System is idle¶
The default setting is 1 minute, which means that Enpass would be auto-locked if the system stays unused for 1 minute.
Lock when main window is closed¶
This check box settings is available for MAC and Windows PC only. If checked, the Enpass will be locked when minimized by clicking on X button on main windows manager.
In Windows PC, this option is enabled only if the Minimize App to System Tray option is checked under General tab in settings.
Lock when system sleeps¶
If the feature is enabled, Enpass will automatically get locked everytime your system goes to sleep mode.
Lock when system gets locked¶
This setting is available only for MAC and Windows desktops. Once enabled, Enpass will get locked, once the system gets locked.
Display section has one settings related to display of password fields.
By default, it is checked and all sensitive fields are concealed by bullets.
System clipboard comes to action when you copy any data. Since all your data in Enpass is very crucial and you usually keep copying from Enpass to paste it somewhere else, this section is very crucial from security aspect.
Clear Clipboard After¶
When you copy any data from Enpass, it gets stored on your device’s clipboard. You can choose when to clear this data from clipboard. By default, it is set to After 30 seconds.